Fast Facts

Short Version of College Name

Penn College®

College Colors

College Athletic Symbol

Athletic symbol is the Wildcat

College School Code

003395

National Accreditation

Pennsylvania College of Technology is an accredited institution and a member of the Middle States Commission on Higher Education (MSCHE or the Commission). Pennsylvania College of Technology's accreditation status is Accreditation Reaffirmed. The Commission’s most recent action on the institution’s accreditation status on June 23, 2022 was to reaffirm accreditation.

Middle States Commission on Higher Education

MSCHE is recognized by the U.S. Secretary of Education to conduct accreditation and pre-accreditation (candidate status) activities for institutions of higher education including distance, correspondence education, and direct assessment programs offered at those institutions. The Commission’s geographic area of accrediting activities is throughout the United States

Carnegie Classification

Carnegie Classification Opportunity Colleges & Universities badge

Pennsylvania College of Technology continues to deliver exceptional results and was recently identified by the Carnegie Foundation as being among institutions in the Opportunity College and University designation, which was granted to only 16% of all colleges and universities—those serving as a national model for fostering student success. Penn College earned this ranking based on student access and the earning performance of its graduates.

National Recognition

Fall 2026: Enrollment

 All StudentDegree SeekingNon-Degree
Full-Time EquivalentFTE *4,3934,37815
Total Students *4,7414,70338
Credits64,58664,396190

* Full-Time Equivalent (FTE)

* Does not include Dual Enrollment students.

Student Demographics

  • 10.92% Diverse Students
    • 2.19% Hispanic-American
    • 6.05% African-American
    • 0.74% Multi-racial
    • 1.46% Asian-American
    • 0.40% Native American
    • 0.08% Hawaiian
  • 82.58% White
  • 6.50% Unknown/Not Specified
     
  • 62.75% Males
  • 36.27% Females
  • 0.98% Unknown, Not Specified, or Non-Binary

Fall Incoming Class

  • 1,806 Total Incoming Students [Undergraduate + Graduate + Non-degree]
    • 1,736 Undergraduate students
    • 35 Graduate students
    • 35 Non-degree students
  • Undergraduate Degree-Seeking New, Transfer & Reenrolling Students
    • 42.1% Enrolled in Bachelor’s Degree programs
    • 55.9% Enrolled in Associate’s Degree programs
    • 2.0% Enrolled in Certificate programs
       
  • 62.4% Male
  • 36.6% Female
  • 1.1% Unknown, Not specified, or Non-binary
     
  • 69.9% Under the Age of 20

Applications

New/Transfer/Reenrolled
  • Total applications received*: 8,445
  • Total offered acceptance*: 6,272

* Excludes Graduate, Penn College dual enrollment, and Non-Degree students.

Student Status

80.87% Full-time (average of 15.10 credit hours)
19.13% Part-time (average of 7.39 credit hours)

Credentials by Students

  • Graduate*: 1.39%
  • Bachelor's Degree: 54.20%
  • Associate's Degree: 42.50%
  • Certificate: 1.10%
  • Other/Non-degree: 0.81%

* Includes MNE, PHA, PAS major codes

Geographic Distribution

  1. North Central PA: 32.1%
    • Lycoming County: 18.0%
  2. Southeast PA: 26.3%
  3. Northeast PA: 14.4%
  4. Central PA: 9.9%
  5. Western PA: 3.6%
  6. Other States: 13.4%
    • New Jersey: 5.1%
    • New York: 2.5%
    • Maryland: 2.0%
    • Connecticut: 0.8%
    • Virginia: 0.8%
    • Delaware: 0.3%
    • Other States: 1.9%
  7. International Students: 0.3%

TOTAL PA RESIDENTS: 86.3%

International Students

12 Students Enrolled
(Belize, Canada, Cote d'Ivoire [Ivory Coast], India, Kenya, Pakistan, South Africa, South Korea)

International students include: students with sole citizenship/permanent residence outside of the US (studying on an F1 visa); students with a different visa other than F1; and undocumented students.

Dual Enrollment

2025–26

2,519 Total students enrolled
8,626 Total credits earned
$5,373,998 Total tuition saved

Academics

Largest Program Clusters

  1. Nursing: 450
  2. Welding: 353
  3. Electrical: 311
  4. Accounting & Business Administration: 293
  5. Heating, Ventilation & Air Conditioning: 240
  6. Automotive: 225
  7. Information Technology: 215
  8. Building Construction: 206
  9. Diesel Truck, Heavy Equipment & Power Generation: 172
  10. Electronics & Computer Engineering Technology: 163

Distance Learning

  • 1,778 students enrolled in distance learning courses
  • 281 students enrolled in distance learning majors
  • 14 majors offered via distance learning
  • 121 total distance learning courses (excludes hybrid)

School Size (Head Count)

  1. Engineering Technologies: 2,787
    • Industrial & Computer Technologies: 803
    • Materials Science & Engineering Technologies: 552
    • Construction & Architecture: 757
    • Transportation: 389
    • Diesel Technology & Natural Resources: 286
  2. Nursing & Health Sciences: 1,321
  3. Business, Arts & Sciences: 595
    • Business & Hospitality: 348
    • Arts & Sciences: 247
  4. Non-degree: 38

Developmental Student Count

  • Degree-Seeking new/transfer students, excluding re-enrollees, enrolled for Fall: 1,607
  • Students without developmental course needs: 1,145 (71.3%)
  • Students with developmental needs: 462 (28.7%)

Student-Faculty Ratio

Full and part-time faculty and staff: 12:1
Full-time faculty only: 18:1

Student-Computer Ratio

3:1

Average Class Size

16

Graduation, Retention & Placement Rates

First-time, full-time students pursuing bachelor’s degrees

  • 1st to 2nd Year Retention Rate: 76%
  • IPEDS Six-Year Graduation Rates (Source: College Navigator )

Bachelor Degree-Seeking Outcomes within Six Years

2019 Cohort

1%

45%
14%
 
17%
22%

2018 Cohort

2%

45%
13%
 
18%
22%

2017 Cohort

1%

54%
11%
 
4%
31%

  Bachelor Grads

  Cert/Assoc Grads

  Still Enrolled

  Transfer-Out

  No Longer Enrolled

First-time, full-time students pursuing associate degrees

  • 1st to 2nd Year Retention Rate: 71%
  • IPEDS Three-Year Graduation Rates (Source: College Navigator )

Certificate & Associate Degree-Seeking Outcomes within Three Years

2019 Cohort

1%

44%
 
13%
42%

2018 Cohort

1%

43%
6%
 
14%
36%

2017 Cohort

1%

36%
6%
 
3%
54%

  Cert/Assoc Grads

  Bachelor Grads

  Still Enrolled

  Transfer-Out

  No Longer Enrolled

 

Placement Rate

Overall Graduate Placement Rate:

  • 97.7% (3-year average)
    • 97.8% (2024–25)
    • 97.6% (2023–24)
    • 97.7% (2022–23)

Tuition & Fees

Current/Projected Costs to Attend Penn College

Current
  • In-state: $32,217
  • Out-of-state: $40,050

Includes 15 credits per semester, housing, meals, books, and supplies—NOT personal expenses.

Fees

  • Cost per credit hour (includes capital fee, student activity fee, health service fee, and technology fee):
    • Fall 2026: $631
    • Spring 2027: $640
  • Lab instruction fee: $70 per lab hour
  • Average annual in-state tuition and fees: $18,930 (30 credit hours)
  • Average annual out-of-state tuition and fees: 1.5 times the in-state rate

Room and Board Costs

  • $7,500 per year (variable rates in Rose Street Commons)
  • $4,710 per year for a 14-meal board plan (most popular)

Tuition & Fee Increase

2.73%

Student Tuition by Residency

87.7% In-State
12.3% Out-of-State

Financial Aid

Percent Receiving Financial Aid

85.29% (4,385 of 5141*) 2025–26 data

* Number of full-year, unduplicated, all credit-seeking students—excluding Penn College dual enrollment students.

Percent Receiving Pell Grant

36.45% (1,874 of 5,141*) 2025–26 data

* Number of full-year, unduplicated, all credit-seeking students—excluding Penn College dual enrollment students.

Default Loan Rate

The percentage of borrowers defaulting on their student loans within three years of entering repayment is 0.0%. National Average is 0.0%.

Most recent official rates reported as of September 30, 2025.

Budget & Fundraising

Totals by Fund

  • Operating: $136,387,840
  • Auxiliary: $34,917,024
  • Total Current Funds: $171,304,864
     
  • Restricted Funds: $14,568,317
  • Plant & Debt Funds: $19,200
  • Total College: $185,892,381
     
  • State Appropriations: $35,669,550
    • As a % of Total: 19.2%

Donor Restricted Funds at Penn College

As of June 30, 2026

College, Foundation, Journey Bank Community Arts Center

Total Restricted/Endowment: $41,005,052

Fundraising

July 1, 2025–June 30, 2026

A total of $18,010,507.85 raised in cash, in-kind gifts, pledges, and valued estate commitments between the College and the Foundation.

Grant Activity to Date

Thirty active/approved projects in excess of $55.8 million and $7.3 million (11 projects) submitted/under development (as of 9/9/26). Active/approved projects include the WEDnetPA program at $16 million and the Weatherization Training & Technical Assistance program at $24.4 million.

Student Life

Athletics

The Penn College Wildcats are a member of the United East Conference and the National Collegiate Athletic Association (NCAA) Division III, except as noted.

Penn College fields 14 intercollegiate sports, including:

  • Baseball (M) – United East & NCAA DIII
  • Basketball (M & W) – United East & NCAA DIII
  • Cross Country (M & W) – United East & NCAA DIII
  • Golf (M) – United East & NCAA DIII
  • Lacrosse (M) – United East & NCAA DIII
  • Soccer (M & W) – United East & NCAA DIII
  • Softball (W) – United East & NCAA DIII
  • Tennis (M & W) – United East & NCAA DIII
  • Wrestling (M) – Independent
  • Volleyball (W) – United East & NCAA DIII

Club Sports:

  • Archery (Co-Ed) – USA Archery
  • Esports

NCAA student-athletes: 332
E-Sports: 35
Archery: 30

Greek Life

Penn College recognizes two nationally affiliated fraternities:

  • Phi Mu Delta
  • Sigma Pi

Student Organizations

68

Workforce Development

July 1, 2025–June 30, 2026

Workforce Development served a total of 5,497 worker enrollments and 547 employers in 36 states/districts and 20 countries.
Custom training, apprenticeships, pre-apprenticeships, and technical assistance services were provided across a range of program areas including: building performance, business/leadership, health sciences, manufacturing, polymers, and transportation.

Manufacturing

During Year 2 of the MIDAS+ (Modular Industry-Driven Apprenticeship Strategies) grant, funded by U.S. Department of Labor, 186 manufacturing apprenticeship participants were served.

A total of 92 workers and 13 companies received custom industrial and safety training.

Building Performance

Provided accredited Home Energy Professional training, certification, and technical assistance under $13.9 million in DCED Weatherization Training and Technical Assistance contracts, including the launch of the Penn College at Pittsburgh satellite site, a new Workforce Development lab focused on building performance training. Across all building performance programs, including Building Operator Certification, worker enrollments totaled 3,286.

Workforce Readiness

AMP (Advanced Manufacturing Pre-Apprenticeship) received the PA Department of Labor & Industry’s 2024-25 Outstanding Registered Pre-Apprenticeship Program Sponsor Award and enrolled 389 high school and out-of-school youth from 32 schools statewide.

The Next-Door program, a workforce readiness initiative funded through the PA DCED’s Weatherization Assistance Program, served a total of 28 Career and Technical Education schools and 186 students statewide.

Health Sciences

Trained 80 Licensed Practical Nurses (LPNs), 36 EMTs, and 27 Paramedics, with NREMT test pass rates higher than PA and national averages.

Polymers

Worked with 62 companies across 22 states and one international location to complete 24 research and development projects and train 320 employees in workshops.

Transportation

Trained 346 participants across transportation workforce programs and launched the Bus Maintenance Technician Apprenticeship in July 2025 with support from eight Pennsylvania public transit agency partners and a $600,000 PA Labor & Industry grant.

WEDnetPA

The WEDnetPA program received $8,000,000 in funding. The College serves as the fiscal agent and statewide administrator for the program that helps Pennsylvania companies offset the cost of upskilling their workforce. This year, the program supported 469 companies and their 12,212 employees. 

Campus

Campus Size

  • Main Campus: 124.85 acres
  • Aviation Center: 5.65 acres
  • Earth Science Center: 379.29 acres
  • General Services: 5.75 acres
  • Wellsboro: 0.28 acres
  • Total size: 515.82 acres

On-Campus Housing

1,453 on-campus residents

Library

  • Library building: 104,000 square feet
  • Print volumes: 78,340
  • Media volumes: 4,206
  • Back issues volumes of periodicals: 9,286
  • Print subscriptions: 94
  • Database subscriptions: 200
  • Online journal titles: 128,864
  • Reference volumes: 5,360
  • E-books: 251,250
  • Streaming videos: 14,589 (added a new streaming video database during the 2025–26 academic year)

Journey Bank Community Arts Center

Since opening in May 1993, the Community Arts Center has hosted 155,506 patrons for movies and 1,919,612 for live events, for a total of 2,075,118 as of August 2026.

Alumni

Alumni Details

  • Total living alumni (in the database): 68,262
  • Total alumni with valid mailing addresses: 53,793
  • Percent in PA: 81%

More than 1,000 (1,123) are added each year after commencement.

Employees

Employees by Category

  • Total Full-time Employees: 859
    • Full-time Non-Faculty (staff): 592
    • Full-time Faculty (includes Counselors & Librarians): 267
  • Part-time Faculty: 123
  • Regular Part-time Non-Faculty (staff): 77
  • Casual Part-time Non-Faculty (staff): 450