Scholarship Winner Among Four Industry-Honored Forestry Students

Published 05.08.2007

Student News

From left are Dennis F. Ringling, forestry professor at Pennsylvania College of Technology%3B Zachary S. Mininger, Lancaster%3B Ryan R. Ling, Morrisdale%3B Gregory D. Wiltsie, Warren%3B and Erick M. Butters, Morris.Four forest technology students in Pennsylvania College of Technology's School of Natural Resources Management, including a scholarship winner recognized for his 4.0 grade-point average, recently were inducted into the North American Forest Technician Honorary.

Erick M. Butters, of Morris, was one of six students to be selected for the Council of Eastern Forest Technician Schools scholarship an all-time high number of straight-A honorees at member institutions.

Joining him as Penn College inductees into the honor society, which is open to students with a minimum 3.3 GPA in their major classes and a 3.0 overall average, were Ryan R. Ling, Morrisdale; Zachary S. Mininger, Lancaster; and Gregory D. Wiltsie, Warren.

"The recipients are chosen from among … all schools with forest technology programs in the eastern United States and Canada," organization Chairman Christopher L. Westbrook said in a letter to Butters. "As you can see, you faced some very stiff competition and should be proud of your accomplishment." Other scholarship winners are enrolled at Haywood Community College in Clyde, N.C.; Thompson School of Applied Science in Durham, N.H.; and Allegany College of Maryland.

Dennis F. Ringling, a forestry professor at the college's Schneebeli Earth Science Center, is a past chairman of CEFTS and hosted the group's 2005 annual conference.

For more about the School of Natural Resources Management at Penn College, call (570) 320-8038, send e-mail or visit online.