Penn College Inducts 50 Into Four-Year Honor Society

Published 04.06.2004

Student News

Fifty Pennsylvania College of Technology students were inducted recently into the campus chapter of Alpha Chi, a national honor society for baccalaureate degree students.

Membership in Alpha Chi is open to bachelor-degree students from all academic disciplines and is limited to the top 10 percent of an institution's junior and senior classes. Some 300 chapters, in almost every state and in Puerto Rico, induct more than 11,000 members annually.

The organization's purpose is to promote academic excellence and exemplary character among college and university students and to honor those who achieve such distinction.

Penn College's latest inductees into the Pennsylvania Xi Chapter of Alpha Chi are:

Nathaniel L. Baum, Elizabethtown; David W. Beauseigneur, Williamsport; Cynthia A. Bird, Catawissa RR 2; Brian L. Bitner, Greencastle; Ryan M. Black, Chambersburg; Michael J. Blakeslee, Harrisburg; James W. Breon, Howard; Amanda J. Campbell, Newport; Stephen R. Chryn, Greenville, N.H.; Jacob B. Collis, Martinsburg, W.Va.; Timothy E. Cooper, Pleasant Gap; Heather C. Cronrath, Lewisburg; Clinton M. Cullison, Harrisburg; Patricia L. De Leo, Trout Run; Neil P. Deskevich, Johnstown; Amy R. Dougherty, Jersey Shore; Cathy M. Dremel, Hyner; Benjamin J. Duddleston, Interlaken, N.Y.; Charlene F. Ebner, DuBoistown; Anthony J. Fioretti, Williamsport; Geoffrey L. Forney, Hickory; Elizabeth A. Franzen, South Williamsport; Sherry L. Heckman, Muncy; Christopher J. Hepburn, Linden; Thomas A. Hlavaty, Pine Grove; Matthew E. Hoeger, Danville; Danette L. Hostetter, Annville; Joseph M. Kaplafka, Frackville; Michael W. Klinger, Jersey Shore; Brandon L. Lebo, Boiling Springs. Shawn M. Major, Williamsport; Jacob D. Metzger, Portage RR 2; Jeffrey R. Orner, Boiling Springs; Jennifer C. Reed, Hegins; Constance A. Rice, Linden; Bruce A. Schlichter, Bloomsburg; Marc F. Schoendorf, Newington, Conn.; Janna L. Schreffler, Laporte; Alicia R. Sebring, Cogan Station; Kimberly A. Secules, Allenwood; Jesse R. Viani, Wellsville; Anita L. Wagner, Muncy; Chad E. Wagner, Tionesta RR 1; Johnnie A. Walker, Montgomery, Texas; Emily J. Weaver, Ephrata; Derek A. Weeks, Floyd, Va.; Alan J. Wertz, Danville; Brian D. Woods, Industry; Danielle N. Young, Langhorne; and Ryan K. Zimmerman, South Williamsport.

Also participating in the March 27 induction ceremony, held in Penn's Inn in the Bush Campus Center, were Dr. Davie Jane Gilmour, Penn College president; Veronica M. Muzic, vice president for academic affairs/provost; and faculty sponsors Dr. Gerald D. "Chip" Baumgardner, associate professor of business administration, and Dr. Irwin H. Siegel, associate professor of business administration and business law.

Remarks were delivered by Marie Szabo, chapter president; and Cheryl J. Robinson, a December graduate and chapter alumnus.

More information about Alpha Chi is available online. For more about Penn College, call toll-free 1-800-367-9222, or visit on the Web.