College's Phi Theta Kappa Chapter Welcomes New Members

Published 04.25.2009

Student News

Guest speaker Pattie VanAtter relates her personal story of academic perseverance and tells Pennsylvania College of Technology inductees of the benefits of Phi Theta Kappa membership.More than 75 students were inducted Saturday into the Pennsylvania College of Technology chapter of Phi Theta Kappa, an international honor society for students enrolled in two-year programs.

Each semester, the Beta Epsilon Upsilon Chapter extends invitation to Penn College students who have completed at least 12 hours of course work leading to an associate degree and who carry a grade-point average of 3.5 or higher. Founded in 1918, Phi Theta Kappa is the largest honor society in American higher education with more than 2 million members and 1,200 chapters.

This year's Penn College inductees, many of whom attended the morning ceremony in the Klump Academic Center Auditorium, are:

Misty L. Aikey, White Deer; Elizabeth A. Albert, Milroy; Amanda A. Allanah, Pottsville; Tara J. Allred, Watsontown; Nina Y. Babakova, New Columbia; Matthew R. Bergstrom, Leola; George D. Bopst, Westminster, Md.; Jennifer A. Bower, Williamsport; Amber L. Bruno, Jersey Shore; Jenna L. Cole, Bellefonte; Corey S. Cornell, Port Allegany; Christopher J. Crawford-Hoagland, South Williamsport; Gretchen A. de Gross, Lock Haven; Brittany M. DeLousia, Brackney; Brittany M. Ellis, Muncy; Stephanie A. Fike, Pennsylvania Furnace.

Andrea M. Regel, a pre-nursing student from Jersey Shore, receives a congratulatory handshake from college President Davie Jane Gilmour.Timothy E. Funk, Williamsport; Deanna R. Furman, Williamsport; Jodi A. Ganter, Reading; Tracy A. Garis, Hellertown; David J. Guillemette, Durham, Conn.; Jason W. Hardy, Hughesville; Jessica L. Heath, Mildred; Jason M. Hirtzel, Colden, N.Y.; Marek William Hronowski, Williamsport; Matthew S. Hyde, Jersey Shore; Nathan A. Hyde, Jersey Shore; Brenda R. Johnson, Quakertown; Brison W. Kearney, Williamsport; Christina L. Kessler, Danville; Gerilyn D. Koontz, Montoursville; Rebecca E. Lilly, Danville; Erin M. Long, Muncy; Mark M. Mastervich Jr., Williamsport.

Alex J. Maury, Weatherly; Dustin C. McClain, Howard; Ryan P. McCollum, Warrington; Kristin L. McDonald, Dushore; Stephanie A. McGaw, South Williamsport; Aleah N. McNeal, Williamtown; Kevin C. Metzger, Williamsport; Bethany R. Midkiff, Red Lion; Denyse A. Miele, South Williamsport; Michelle D. Mierwald, State College; Carla S. Mincemoyer, Watsontown; Holly L. Montarsi, Howard; Maura E. Mulrooney, Millmont; Brendan E. Muth, Macungie; Patricia A. Neff, Williamsport; Marc E. Nelson, Ranshaw; Laura J. O'Connor, Muncy; Patrick M. O'Neill, Williamsport.

Marissa Y. Peagler, Pennsylvania Furnace; Andrea M. Regel, Jersey Shore; Katherine L. Rehm, Turbotville; Brent N. Renninger, Williamsport; Amie L. Rinier, Williamsport; Abigail L. Schaeffer, Cogan Station; Abigail L. Schuler, Waynesboro; Elizabeth M. Segraves, Williamsport; Christopher D. Sendelsky, Chester; Kristi A. Servey, Montoursville; Kelly J. Slaterbeck, Mill Hall; Seth D. Sneeringer, West Hickory; Jonathan T. Snyder, Williamsport; Kari J. Snyder, Williamsport; John B. Tunney, Williamsport; Daniel A. Vest, Oak Hill; Alicia J. Waldrab, Williamsport; Jordan W. Welshans, Avis; Brian D. West, Newark, Del.; Laura M. West, Montoursville; Miles H. Weston, Williamsport; Chad D. Wilbur, Athens; Abbygale J. Willow, Lewisburg; Carol E. Withey, Jersey Shore.

Also participating in the induction ceremony were Davie Jane Gilmour, Penn College president; Tom Gregory, associate vice president for instruction; PTK faculty co-advisers Anne K. Soucy, assistant professor of drafting and computer aided design, and Susan Slamka, assistant professor of human services/psychology; and Sheila A. Kramer, chapter president. Guest speaker was Pattie VanAtter, of the Phi Theta Kappa International Alumni Advisory Council.

Joining Kramer as 2008-09 officers are Ashley M. Wolfe, vice president; Alyssa J. Giedroc, assistant vice president; Michael P. Luckenbill, treasurer; Benjamin Bollinger, assistant treasurer; Katie E. Buhrman, secretary; Andrew T. Koskie, historian; and Morgan J. Gardner, public relations officer.

Phi Theta Kappa inductees, along with their advisers and special guests, fill the front of the ACC Auditorium for a group photo.