West Liberty University to honor President Gilmour

Published 09.15.2021

President News
Faculty & Staff

Pennsylvania College of Technology President Davie Jane Gilmour is among the West Liberty University alumni inductees chosen for inclusion on the institution’s Wall of Honor this fall.

Gilmour is one of three 2021 inductees being honored during the Oct. 15 event. The ceremony is part of the Impact of Philanthropy and Wall of Honor Recognition Dinner taking place in the renovated Wall of Honor alcove in the Paul N. Elbin Library. West Liberty is honoring two years’ worth of honorees; the 2020 ceremony, which was to celebrate four inductees, was postponed due to the pandemic.

President Davie Jane Gilmour“Last year we weren’t able to gather as a large group for our usual Homecoming festivities due to the pandemic so this fall, we’ve planned a safe and very special evening that will honor both this year and last year’s Wall of Honor recipients whose names will be added to this prestigious honor roll,” said Ron Witt, executive director of alumni affairs for West Liberty University.

Gilmour earned an associate degree in dental hygiene and a bachelor’s degree in dental hygiene education from West Liberty. She went on to earn both a master’s degree and a doctorate in health education from Penn State. She joined Penn College, then Williamsport Area Community College, in 1977. She was named president of the college in May 1998 after serving in a number of senior administration posts. She has announced that she will retire in June 2022.

The other 2021 inductees are Bill Beatty, of Wellsburg, West Virginia, a naturalist, photographer, writer and educator who has had thousands of photos published in textbooks, magazines and other media, and who earned a bachelor’s degree in biology from West Liberty; and Todd Bullard, a former college president (WVU Potomac State College and Bethany College), the first provost of Rochester Institute of Technology, and a higher education leader who earned a bachelor’s degree in political science from West Liberty. Bullard died in 2009.

The 2020 Wall of Honor inductees are Gerald R. Crabtree, of Woodside, California, a medical doctor and renowned Stanford University professor; Carol Spadafore Frum, of Wheeling, West Virginia, a dental hygienist and educator who was named associate professor emeritus for her service to West Liberty; Barbara J. Laifer, of Nashville, Tennessee, an entertainer and educator who has performed on stages from Wheeling to Europe and toured nationally as part of the New Seekers pop group; and Aaron J. “A.J.” Monseau, of Morgantown, West Virginia, a physician and educator who serves at West Virginia University as associate professor of emergency medicine, head team physician and medical director for athletics, and fellowship director of primary care sports medicine, a program he founded.

Penn College is a national leader in applied technology education. For more, email the Admissions Office or call toll-free at 800-367-9222.