Student Achievement Awards Presented to December Graduates

Published 12.20.2014

Student News

Pennsylvania College of Technology has presented student achievement awards to its December 2014 graduates.

The award winners, their hometowns and academic majors are:

President's Award, presented for leadership and service to the college: Whitnie-rae Mays, Williamsport, applied technology studies.

Board of Directors' Award, presented for achievement under exceptional conditions: Nicole Marie Reyes-Molina, Lancaster, building construction technology: masonry emphasis.

The Academic Vice President and Provost's Award, presented for scholastic achievement and service: Christine Lorraine Paterson, South Williamsport, accounting.

Lewis H. Bardo Memorial Award, presented to a graduate who exemplifies the ideals of Lewis H. Bardo (devotion to duty, helpfulness to others, friendliness and high ideals): Danielle Anne Lister, Dauphin, nursing.

Chef Leah Chase Excellence in Hospitality Award, presented to a nontraditional graduate who demonstrates Chef Chase's commitment to being a positive role model for the hospitality industry; work and scholastic excellence; stewardship of personal and professional resources; respect for self and others; and excellence and leadership in hospitality education: Victoria Lynne Kostecki, Center Valley, baking and pastry arts.

Hospitality Faculty Award, presented to a graduate who demonstrates academic achievement, exemplifies professionalism and is committed to excellence in hospitality: Amber Sue English, Lewistown, hospitality management.

Penn College Machine Shop Faculty Award, presented to a graduate of a two- or four-year automated manufacturing/machining/toolmaking major who exemplifies the college’s philosophy of excellence and exhibits devotion to duty, helpfulness to others and friendliness: Michael Alan Bastian, Watsontown, automated manufacturing technology.

Alfred L. Hauser Sr. Memorial Award, presented to a graduating student in the two-year automated manufacturing technology or four-year manufacturing engineering technology major who exemplifies the college's philosophy of excellence: Jared Brice Tarr, Danville, automated manufacturing technology, machine tool technology and machinist general.

American Welding Society Student Chapter Award, presented to a member of the student chapter who has shown leadership and dedication in the field of welding: Tyler A. Grove, Perkasie, manufacturing engineering technology.

Penn College Welding Faculty Award, presented to the graduates of a two- or four-year welding major who exemplify the college philosophy of excellence: Shaun Glenn Friant, Muncy, welding and fabrication engineering technology; Seth Gregory Perrin, White Deer, welding and fabrication engineering technology.

Robert G. Thomas Award, presented to a graduate who has attained the highest cumulative average in welding: Chad Jimmy Feilbach, Easton, welding and fabrication engineering technology.

McNerney, Page, Vanderlin & Hall Award, presented to the graduate of legal assistant-paralegal studies who had the highest GPA: David P. Samar, South Williamsport, legal assistant-paralegal studies.

Web and Interactive Media Faculty Award, presented to a faculty-selected student, enrolled in the web and interactive media major, on the basis of scholastic achievement, work ethic, character, contribution to the department, and contribution to fellow students: Marie Elizabeth Howey, Williamsport, Web and interactive media.

Grant Berry Sr. Automotive Excellence Award, presented to the graduate with the highest cumulative GPA in an automotive major (manufacturer emphases and collision repair excluded): Nathan William Mitchell, Windber, automotive technology.

Collision Repair Department Award, presented to an outstanding graduate of a collision repair major as agreed upon by the faculty: Colin S. Geiger, Sunbury, collision repair.

For more information about Penn College, which is celebrating its Centennial throughout 2014, email the Admissions Office or call toll-free 800-367-9222.