Five Wildcats Earn All-Conference Baseball Honors

Published 05.16.2014


The Penn State University Athletic Conference announced its All-Conference Baseball team Thursday with five Penn College student-athletes earning the cut.  Senior Cody Buterbaugh and junior Zachary Buterbaugh, both of Conestoga, earned First-Team honors, while senior Josh Longsderff (Columbia) and juniors Zachary Weil (Kutztown) and Tyler Cooklin (Rippey, Iowa) earned Second-Team.  The conference award is voted on by the coaches of each institution in the PSUAC. Zachary Buterbaugh was the go-to offensive player on the team, hitting .442 with a .542 on-base percentage.  On the mound, he racked up a conference-leading four saves with a 1.46 ERA. Cody Buterbaugh had one of his best seasons in 2014, hitting .411 with 31 RBIs.  In the field, he committed only one error with 50 putouts and 52 assists. Longsderff totaled six wins on the year and had a 3.35 ERA with a .206 opposing batting average. Weil provided the power at the fourth spot in the lineup, hitting in a team-leading 33 runners while batting .352 with a .580 slugging percentage. Cooklin led the team with 70 strikeouts, a 3.34 ERA and six wins.