Gingrich PSUAC 'Player of the Year'; Eight Wildcats Make All-Conference Team

Published 05.09.2012


Roar, Wildcats, roar!The Penn State University Athletic Conference released its end-of-the-year awards for baseball Wednesday and eight Penn College players made the cut. Highlighting the strong showing was senior Skylar Gingrich (Lititz) who was named Player of the Year after ending the season leading the PSUAC in batting average (.443), RBI (53) and home runs (8). The all-conference award is voted on by coaches from each of the PSUAC member institutions. In addition to Gingrich, First Team, All-Conference award winners for the Wildcats were senior Garrett Hornung (Emporium), sophomore Brian Santangelo (Middletown, Conn.) and freshman Zachary Buterbaugh (Conestoga). Second baseman Hornung led the conference in on-base percentage (.533) and walks (32), while pitcher Santangelo led the conference in earned-run average (1.71). In his rookie season, center fielder Buterbaugh batted an impressive .384, good enough for fourth overall in the PSUAC. Three players were named to the Second Team, All-Conference: senior Jared Johnson (Wyalusing), junior Harrison Myers (Lebanon) and sophomore Josh Longsderff (Columbia). Right fielder Johnson batted .386 with three triples, while pitcher Myers racked up four winsand 30 strikeouts. Pitcher Longsderff had a solid season, recording a perfect game the first in Penn College history, against Penn State Greater Allegheny and finished the year with 28 strikeouts.