Employee Recognition 1998

Published 05.04.1998

Faculty & Staff

Pennsylvania College of Technology conducted its annual Employee Recognition Week during the week of May 11. A highlight was a special reception honoring recipients of the Distinguished Staff Awards, new members of the College's Quarter Century Club, retirees and recipients of the Part-Time Teaching Excellence Awards. Distinguished Teaching Awards were announced during the College's commencement exercises Saturday, May 16.

1998 Distinguished Teaching Awards
Honoring three educators for excellence, Pennsylvania College of Technology announced its 1998 Distinguished Teaching Awards at commencement ceremonies held Saturday, May 16, in the Community Arts Center in downtown Williamsport. Nominations are received from students and other individuals with direct knowledge of a nominee's work and dedication. Faculty are chosen from nominations by a representative selection committee which includes faculty, students, administrators and a member of the Corporate Advisory Board and the College Board of Directors. Each award winner exemplifies the College philosophy of dedication to excellence in instruction and the College practice of quality service for all students.

  • Master Teaching Award
    Keith A. Vanderlin
    , instructor of graphic design

  • Excellence in Teaching Awards
    Craig A. Cian
    , associate professor and department head of food and hospitality management/culinary arts, and Jane E. Donovan, assistant professor of psychiatric/medical/surgical nursing

1998 Distinguished Staff Awards
This was the third year the College presented Distinguished Staff Awards to recognize outstanding full-time employees. One honoree was selected from each of the College's three staff classifications: administrative, professional and technical; classified, and service staff. The Distinguished Staff Award winners received a framed certificate and $500 each from the College Foundation

  • Diana Kuhns, assistant dean for integrated studies

  • Jennifer Allshouse, police officer

  • Joan Shade, secretary to dean of transportation technology

Part-Time Teaching Excellence Awards (honoring distinguished part-time faculty)

  • Dr. Jefferson Porter, dental hygiene; Porter has had a private dental practice in Williamsport since 1981

  • Max Ameigh, art; Ameigh retired from secondary education after 25 years of teaching art education in the Williamsport and Jersey Shore area schools.

Quarter Century Club (celebrating their 25th anniversary of service to the institution)

  • James McMahon, controller

  • Marjorie Withers, secretary to the controller

  • Franklin Beatty III, associate professor

  • Benjamin Eldred, assistant professor

  • Leonard Filipkowski, associate professor

  • James Pivirotto, associate professor

  • James Potter II, instructor

  • Lawrence Stabler Sr., associate professor

  • Robert Stull, assistant professor

  • Bonnie Taylor, associate professor

Retirees (honoring employees who announced their retirement in 1997-98)

  • Raymond Barner, custodian

  • Dorothy Dincher, general ledger assistant

  • Robert Hafer, instructor

  • John Hammond, professor

  • Estella Helm, duplicating assistant

  • Theresa Lomison, part-time food services worker

  • Gene Mader, manager, food services

  • Thomas McNally, counselor

  • Donna Miller, associate professor

  • Ruth Nice, instructor

  • Guy Robers, property protection officer

  • Charles Rote, custodian

  • Russell Umstead, supervisor of purchasing