Press Release

2011-12 Wrestling: NCWA National Championship Tournament - Daytona Beach, FL Day Two

March 9, 2012

Logan Gresock was eliminated in the 174 bracket off a pin from Danny Apgar of Northwest Missouri

Logan Gresock was eliminated in the 174 bracket off a pin from Danny Apgar of Northwest Missouri

DAYTONA BEACH, Fla.. – Freshman Derek Leiby (Troy) booked his ticket into the 149 national semifinal with a win over Lindenwood St. Charles' Cullen Halpin as the Pennsylvania College of Technology wrestling team competed on day two of the National Collegiate Wrestling Association Championships. Lieby was up 2-0 in the first period when his takedown caused Halpin an arm injury forcing him to forfeit. Sophomore Tyler Myers (Centre Hall) is only other Wildcat wrestler remaining out of the six that qualified with freshmen Paul Crutchlow (Morris Plains, N.J.), Logan Gresock (Wadsworth, Ohio), and Jasper Ocker (Burnham) eliminated on the day. Myers started the day in the quarterfinal match against Ryan Madsen of MIT losing a 10-6 decision. He bounced back in consolation with a pin against Kyle Loweman of Southern Illinois at 1:40.

After upsetting the #1 seed on day one, Crutchlow had two tough loses starting off in the quarterfinals against Jim Neal of Grand Valley State University, losing in a 5-4 decision. In consolation, Eidar Muradov of UMBC just edged him out with a point for riding time in the 5-4 decision.

Starting the day in consolation, Gresock was eliminated from the 174 competition by Danny Apgar of Northwest Missouri who pinned him in 41 seconds. At 197, Ocker was eliminated by Eastern Tennessee State’s Benjamin Harrison in a 9-8 decision.

Lieby and Myers get back into action on Saturday, Mar. 10 at 9 a.m.

Day Two Full Results:

149: Lieby (PCT) win by inj. ff Cullen Halpin (Lin-St.C)
157: Ryan Madsen (MIT dec. Myers (PCT)
157: Myers (PCT) pinned Kyle Loweman (S.Ill.) 1:40
174: Danny Apgar (NWMS) pinned Gresock (PCT) :41
184: Jim Neal (GVSU) dec. Crutchlow (PCT) 5-4
184: Eidar Muradov (UMBC) dec. Crutchlow (PCT) 5-4
197: Benjamin Harrison (ETSU) dec. Ocker (PCT) 9-8

Pennsylvania College of Technology
One College Avenue
Williamsport, PA 17701


© 1995 Pennsylvania College of Technology. Penn College® and degrees that work® are registered in the U.S. Patent and Trademark Office.