Press Release

2011-12 Wrestling: PSUAC/USCAA Invitational - Rec Hall, Penn State Univ.

February 12, 2012

Gresock (left) and Leiby (right) took top spots at the 174 and 149 weight classes respectively

Gresock (left) and Leiby (right) took top spots at the 174 and 149 weight classes respectively

STATE COLLEGE, Pa. – The Pennsylvania College of Technology wrestling team competed at the Penn State University Athletic Conference (PSUAC) /United States Collegiate Athletic Association (USCAA) Invitational on Sunday. The Wildcats had five place in the top three including freshmen Derek Leiby (Troy) and Logan Gresock (Wadsworth, Ohio) who took home the top spot at 149 and 174 respectively. The event also served as the PSUAC Championships in which the Wildcats took the top spot in the inaugural year.

Nine schools competed in the competition that included Penn State Fayette, Greater Allegheny, DuBois, New Kensington and Beaver from the PSUAC and The Apprentice School, Williamson Trade and Lindenwood-Bellevue from the USCAA. As a team, the Wildcats finished third overall with 108 team points just behind Apprentice in second and Lindenwood in first.

Leiby's win came over the Apprentice School's Kyle Spruill who is ranked first in the National Collegoate Wrestling Association at the 149 class.

Also for the Wildcats, freshman Kyle Sunseri (Athens) placed third at 141, freshman Paul Crutchlow (Morris Plains, N.J.) placed third at 174 and freshman Jasper Ocker (Burnham) took third at 197.

Next up, the Wildcats travel to Lock Haven University for preliminary bouts on Thursday, Feb. 17 at 5 p.m.

Team Results:

1. The Apprentice School 169
2. Lindenwood Univ. - Belleville 167
3. Penn College 108
4. PSU DuBois 98
5. PSU Greater Allegheny 49
6. PSU Fayette 42.5
7. Williamson Trade 34.5
8. PSU New Kensington 27.5
9. PSU Mont Alto 9.5

Pennsylvania College of Technology
One College Avenue
Williamsport, PA 17701


© 1995 Pennsylvania College of Technology. Penn College® and degrees that work® are registered in the U.S. Patent and Trademark Office.